Leg spin bowling action

fatesjester

Leg spin bowling action

Hey all,

Just another novice leg spin bowler here. Ive been bowling for a few months now, and im starting to get the hang of it. Thing is i very rarely get any turn at all and my accuracy is far from the best. What i was wondering was, whats the best bowling action i should be doing, is there any youtube videos i can watch, cause im pretty sure mine is absultly terrible.

Any help is appreciated.
Cheers

Re: Leg spin bowling action

the best bowling action is whatever is natural to you. if you want to emulate someone then Shane Warne is obviously the ideal role model, but at the same time not everyone will bowl the way that he does through their natural body mechanics. i have tried at great length to emulate Warne, but side-on just isnt my natural action, so i have to bowl front on because trying to get too side-on ended up causing me some fairly serious injury issues (i havent bowled in over a month because of it).

its also very difficult to make suggestions without seeing your bowling action. so your best bet would be to get some video. then people can have a look and see what your natural action is, and just make small suggestions for improvements. you shouldnt need to reinvent your natural motion, just refine it.

if the ball isnt turning then that is generally down to one of two things:

1. youre not spinning the ball very much
2. youre not landing the ball on the seam

to test out number 1, simply spin the ball between your hands. you should be doing this at every opportunity every day anyway to condition your arms to spin the ball, and to increase your spinning strength. if you get the ball spinning with decent revs then this probably isnt your problem.