Physical requirements in a batsman

john wilson

Physical requirements in a batsman

What are the muscle groups and types used , and the energy requirements needed by a batsman in or order to bat all day to score 100 runs in English climate conditions

Re: Physical requirements in a batsman

From a layman's point of view, I'd guess that you'd be using the most of the main muscle groups, but things like back, arms and legs would be at the top of the list.

Break down what you do when batting and it will give you a rough idea.

John, welcome to the forum by the way! If you like what you then please spread the word!

Thanks for the reply, but its a more complex question than first seems. Yes the main muscle groups, but the energy systems ie Anaerobic, Type IIa muscle fibres, etc, and what type of rehydration would be required during the on field times and what type of food during the lunch /tea breaks

I'm no expert, but from hanging around sC from a few months, I have learned (learnt?) that spotty bananas (yellow, rather than green ones) are a good source of fast energy, and so something to perhaps have just before an innings or during one (at a drinks break) but that green ones are ideal to have about one hour prior to an innings - at tea, for example, when you are opening the subsequent innings.

You should also look for isotonic drinks (the ones with the same sugar concentration as the blood) to consume for quickest energy release prior to an innings.

john wilson said:
Thanks for the reply, but its a more complex question than first seems. Yes the main muscle groups, but the energy systems ie Anaerobic, Type IIa muscle fibres, etc, and what type of rehydration would be required during the on field times and what type of food during the lunch /tea breaks