Stepping Away in the Nets

lewissaffin

Stepping Away in the Nets

The problem I have is that, when I play in the nets, I keep stepping towards the leg side and exposing most of my stumps, even to straight balls. They are new nets and may just need getting used to because, interestingly, I play the line with the majority of shots in game.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Re: Stepping Away in the Nets

As a coach I view nets as a nightmare and your particular problem highlights the main reason I try to use them as sparingly as possible - its very difficult to replicate 'game' situations and conditions as it relies on the hardest bit of players to coach (the top 12")

Anyway, if nets are used as your main source of practice (as seems to be the case at many clubs) try to focus less on the 'environment' and more on what you would in a game - as a guess once the bowler is at the top of his run up you are no longer looking around the field placings etc but starting to focus in as he runs up (this should look relatively similar in both nets and game situations). Try to give yourselve 'game situations' to bat in (again better if this is also agreed with bowlers and coaches) and try to do what you would out in the middle - if you walk around after a ball do so in the nets

The only other thing to add is do you have any idea why you step towards the leg side, are the nets bouncier and thus seen as a bit more dangerous than the square?

lewissaffin;400211 said:
The problem I have is that, when I play in the nets, I keep stepping towards the leg side and exposing most of my stumps, even to straight balls. They are new nets and may just need getting used to because, interestingly, I play the line with the majority of shots in game.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Try putting a cone or stumps behind you so that you hit something when you step to leg. Best to start off with throwdowns though.