Confidence

Young_Desy

Hello

I'm Des and i'm new to Big Cricket, after being shown a link on facebook.
I bowl (try to anyway) right arm wrist spin in club cricket. I have been bowling wrist spin for around 4 years. My main query, or question is I wish to rasie is concerning confidence whilst bowling.
I am not a generaly outgoing person, and it shows on the cricket field. One boundary or two of my first over can dent my confidence for the rest of the game. The pressure gets to me, I grip the bowl tight and end up bowling half trackers which in turn get hit for more runs, and I end up with less then impressive figures.
I wish I could have that confident swagger about me that Shane Warne had when he bowled. I was just wondering if anyone on the forum had any advice on how they "keep their heads up" during a game, when things aren't going there way, any mental approaches, or routines you go through before, during or after an over to keep confidence stable?
Any advice is much appreciated
Thanks

No easy answer as some people have a natural swagger whereas others are more introverted. The best way is to make sure you are as prepared as you possibly can be and to have faith in your ability. Every bowler, no matter how great or terrible will bowl bad balls likewise they will also bowl good ones. Runs will be leaked, boundaries given but also wickets taken and maidens bowled. The key is to control the things you can control and not worry about the rest.

Treat it for what it is, a game/test/challenge/duel. Sure, all bowlers would love a wicket maiden first up to help settle down but it's rare. Chances are your coming on to bowl a little 'cold' and need time to warm up. Even harder if you're coming on 1st or 2ns change when the bats are set or at least have been there for a little while. If you get hit for a boundary then forget about it, move on and concentrate on the next ball. No point dwelling on what has gone, after all you can't change it.