footwork, balance, timing...

footwork, balance, timing...

Last week I was in the nets batting for the first time in many years and not surprisingly I seemed to have a number of issues to sort out. I've described them in greater detail here, but the basic problems seem to be lack of footwork, leaning back too much, and not being able to time the ball.

Can anyone give me any advice on how I can work through these? Any drills I could do at home would be ideal.

Re: footwork, balance, timing...

Im no expert on batting, despite my fanatic love for the game, but for the footwork drills at home you could try shadow batting. I used to be only able to slog, until, bored watching tv, i picked up my bat and played some shadow on drives, making sure i took a big stride, and always checking i have my left foot pointing straight down the wicket. im no KP now, but i can straight drive a lot better. It may just have been a personal thing but it helped me.

otherwise, in the nets make a concious effort to come forward to each ball - if you ask ur teammates nicely they might even bowl it nice and full for ya. its a mental problem that I still have to the express bowlers - lucky for me i pay in a very low league so the pace is at a level i can handle. I think for both you and me its just gonna take time, determination and match practice not to keep backing away from the ball

Ill gladly welcome tips and drills to any of these too, but in the mean time i hope ive been of help

TJ

Spiderlounge;387472 said:
Last week I was in the nets batting for the first time in many years and not surprisingly I seemed to have a number of issues to sort out. I've described them in greater detail here, but the basic problems seem to be lack of footwork, leaning back too much, and not being able to time the ball.

Can anyone give me any advice on how I can work through these? Any drills I could do at home would be ideal.

I apologise, I do not know your age but assume you are an adult.