Leg spinners. Does this happen to you?

Batesy

Leg spinners. Does this happen to you?

I've been bowling leg spin for about 7 years now and im really starting to notice that my fingers are getting ripped from the side of my fingernail. This mainly happens on my index finger. It will usually start bleeding after about 5 overs. Is there anything i can do to help it?

Re: Leg spinners. Does this happen to you?

Batesy;364884 said:
I've been bowling leg spin for about 7 years now and im really starting to notice that my fingers are getting ripped from the side of my fingernail. This mainly happens on my index finger. It will usually start bleeding after about 5 overs. Is there anything i can do to help it?

do you mean that one of your finger nails is cutting into the side of one of your fingers?

or do you mean that you are getting cuts around the edges of your fingernails?

if you mean the first one, then maybe cutting the offending nails right back might help? i bite my nails quite badly, and the skin around them. so my nails are always non-existant, and the skin around them is extremely tough (its about 30 generations of scar tissue lol).

im struggling to picture where youre doing the damage though and how it is happening. everyone has a different action, so yours is probably different to mine. might be worth getting some photos of the damage, and also how you hold the ball maybe?

Without seeing photos etc then it sounds like the seam is cutting or more likely ripping the skin as he bowls.

mas cambios;364902 said:
Without seeing photos etc then it sounds like the seam is cutting or more likely ripping the skin as he bowls.

yes that is exactly right, well the stitching cuts the side of my finger.

have a look in the old wrist spin thread or from about 3 weeks ago another bloke was asking about similar things and some suggestions were made.

someblokecalleddave;364907 said: