• Only chucks the Doosra

Votes: 37 61.7%
  • Don't know

Votes: 5 8.3%

• Total voters
Re: Muttiah Muralitharan's bowling action

schwab2clarkson;295131 said:
He doesn't bowl wrong'uns mate.

You're going to have expand on this and educate me in these matters.

Have a look at this link on cricinfo -

http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/srilanka/content/player/49636.html

In the paragraph that starts....."He bowls marathon spells" it goes on to say "His chief weapons are the big spinning offbreak". Now, I'm new to this game and I'm assuming that you know a great deal more about spin bowling than I do and this is what these forums are good for.......

So,

1. He's a right arm bowler.
2. The ball just described above has to fall into 1 or 2 catergories surely - it's either finger spin or wrist spin? Now to my untrained eye and from my emperical observation and research I'd argue that his technique has a lot more to do with wrist spin than finger spin and in the same article above it goes on to describe how wristy his action is?

So can we agree that he bowls wrist spin?

dave he doesn't bowl wrong'uns but he does bowl with a hell of alot of wrist due to his double jointed wrist. There is effectively the elements of wrist spin and finger spin its just he can move his wrist so much it does add alot of the spin.

on the chucking front it depends what you define as throwing as he does bend his arm 13 degrees in his delivery but officially the limit is 15 set by the icc

personally I don't believe he chucks and there is video footage of him bowling with a steel plaster cast over his elbow to prevent his straightening at all, and he can bowl with it on all be it painfully

A lot of the debate about his action is down to a slight optical illusion when he bowls, plus a misunderstanding of the law with regards to bowling actions.