Swinging the ball

Swinging the ball

Hey everyone,

Ive gornw up my whole life bowling outswing but now that im older and with a bit more pace im starting to cut the ball inwards all the time. It's not that bad because i bowl wide of off-stump trying to get the batsmen driving and bring it back through the gate but i tend to drag it down leg-side alot aswell. Jut wondering if my action or wrist position affects this. I dont feel like ive changed anything just cant swing the ball out anymore!!

Re: Swinging the ball

How do you hold the ball? I'm not an expert on swinging it alot, but usually the position for an outswinger should be different to that of an off cutter and your hand action should be too.

You need to get back to the basic grip for the outswinger. I reckon that in trying to bowl to cut inwards, you are moving your hand over the ball, instead of running the fingers down the seam.

I don't swing it out, just swing in and cut in, but anyway He may be doing what kallis does by rolling his fingers like an off cutter down the seam to keep seam up right but he may be relasing it at a funny angle with the wrist that is turning it into an off cutter...

Just get the ball up there to see whether you are swinging it or not.

If you aren't then at leat you can use your cutter as a fall on weapon.

Perhaps try bowling with a swing king they always help you swing the ball again.

I'm not an expert either, but I find that a small change in finger position can turn an outswinger into an off-cutter.
Ensure your middle finger isn't any further from the seam than your index finger, you might be accidentally bowling quick off-spin; I used to do it a lot with my quicker ball when young. (Likewise, if the index finger gets further from the seam you might find you accidentally bowl leg-cutters. All handy skills once you learn to control them.)