Terrible problem with run up

petersiddle09

Terrible problem with run up

Hello, yes i have a huge problem, it is in my run up. when i get the the line to bowl i like slow down and bowl way behind the no ball line, this effects my confidence and my line and pace. Does anyone know what im talking about.. Its really werid.

Again cheers

Re: Terriable problem with run up

I dont know if it's the same thing but some times I think I am going to over step the line so then I slow down losemy rhythm and screw up.

just practise without a ball start, with both feet together and pretend you were doing a regular run up.It may be that your run-up is not right or your're worried about oversteppnig when you see the line.

Im no expert so this might be complete bull but you neverknow ;)

Actually Edge, you're spot on :)

Rhythm is really important and if you have not got this right, there is no purpose going any further.

I see this a lot with guys who have been penalised for foot faults, they tend to lose confidence and over compensate.

Bowl backwards, to get your length then mark it. As Edge says, practise to get your rhythm within your length and it will all come right.

Edge;354982 said:
I dont know if it's the same thing but some times I think I am going to over step the line so then I slow down losemy rhythm and screw up.

just practise without a ball start, with both feet together and pretend you were doing a regular run up.It may be that your run-up is not right or your're worried about oversteppnig when you see the line.

Im no expert so this might be complete bull but you neverknow ;)

I don't understand how to fix this problem or what you mean??

Start at the popping crease and then run away from the stumps (the opposite to what you would do in a normally). When you feel like you should bowl, stop, mark it and then give it a go in the normal way.