Knee Injury Rehab

abhiscenter

Knee Injury Rehab

Hey guys,
Couple of months ago, I twisted my left Knee a little right when i was about to deliver the ball. I heard a little pop and had a stiff knee for couple of weeks. I was limping in the 1st week but I was walking since then. Now I still have the pain and on the outer side knee bottom left side of the patella. i want to recover as soon as possible. So can you guys recommend me some helpful excercises so i can recover asap.
Please ask me if you need any more details,
Thank you
A.V

Re: Knee Injury Rehab

Sounds like you've done some ligament damage. I'm not a doctor but the description you've given is similar to the serious knee injuries sustained in the Australian Football League (AFL) over here. Players that do ligament damage tend to hear a pop or a noise when one of the ACL or PCL becomes damaged. If you've done one of those, you're generally looking at at least 8 weeks on the sidelines.

I'm sure Liz will be able to shed more info though. The best advice I can give would be to stay away from playing sport and see a doctor (again, that is only my personal opinion).

Sorry to hear Sounds very similar to a ruptured ACL. The lay off for one of those is a little but longer than 8 week - try 8 months.

I popped my ACL in July '09 trying to split-dodge the man on the mark when kicking out from full back. The knee swelled, and I was walking on it the next day. I was able to cycle and swim with minimal discomfort approximately a week or two after it (not knowing that my ACL had ruptured). I knew something was wrong, although i read that you can get by W/O and ACL. I went 6 months with slight discomfort before I decided to get the reco done. Although playing cricket, I believe that have the Reconstruction is the best possible outcome.

Liz, if you don't mind me asking, what is it exactly that you do?