Where has my swing gone ?

madbunny

Hey all,

I've been playing Club cricket for about 5 years now. I've always been a big swinger of the ball and bowl medium/fast. I open the bowling with the new ball and my natural action was has always allowed my to bowl outswing to right handers/in-swing to left handers.

However, this year I have noticed I have been unable to get the ball to swing at all. Even other teams have commented on it as I am well known to swing the ball quite a bit. I haven't really changed my action, it's been the same as long as I've played cricket. The only thing that I have noticed recently is I seem to fall off to the left in my follow through nowadays, possibly because of the 10 kilos I've stacked on in the last year :)

Anyone have any insight as to what could be the cause or some drills to try and get it back? I miss my swing :(

Even I am in the same boat as you guys! I have no clue why I am not able to swing it anymore.

Maybe, is it the global warming?
wink.png

Could be the ball you're using. Small changes in the manufacturing could have negated the swing (less seam, less varnish etc). Other than that it is going to come down to grip, wrist position and arm position. Check they are all as they're meant to be - isolate each one and play around to see what happens.

It be the atmospheric conditions, too warm/wet/dry/cloudy and so on, if so there is little you can do but grin and bear it.

Last weekend, it was quite humid (rather than dry as it is usual) and I was able to swing the ball both ways. For the first time, I was able to bring the ball into the right hander. It was just a magical day and a great feeling when you can demand the ball to go out or come in.