If i dont oil my bat will it break or crack?

petersiddle09

If i dont oil my bat will it break or crack?

I have cricket tranning tommorow and i am playing in two weeks. I'm new to having a good english willow bat. Just say i went to the nets with out any oil of my bad will it snap crack split etc. I use wood worum tourch..

In the title i ment to say bat

Re: If i dont oil my bad will it break or crack?

i didn't oil my first bat and it lasted about a season.
it showed a few cracks that i had to fix but last game a big chunk came out.
I recommend you oil it though.

petersiddle09;321136 said:
I have cricket tranning tommorow and i am playing in two weeks. I'm new to having a good english willow bat. Just say i went to the nets with out any oil of my bad will it snap crack split etc. I use wood worum tourch..

In the title i ment to say bat

Not a lot will happen to it. It may get a bit dry and be prone to water damage a little more than others but it's not a major issue.

You oil a bat largely to seal in the natural moisture of the wood, which helps to give the bat it's 'spring'. Not oiling may make it more prone to cracks especially in a dry climate.

If you can apply some oil to it, then it would be beneficial but not the end of the world if you can't.