Welcome along

micoach

Welcome along

Hi Simplycricketers :)

Allow me to introduce myself and put out a request for questions.

I'm David Hinchliffe. I've been involved in cricket, fitness and nutrition for as long as I can remember. My dad used to take me to his club games when I was a mere lad and I scored many runs in various back gardens across Berkshire before graduating to play real games at a reasonable club level ;)

I've been an ECB qualified cricket coach (although it was the NCA back then) for over 12 years. I've coached a range skills from under 9 to ICC Associate level. My proudest coaching moment is spending one summer at the MCC indoor school in Lords.

I take s special interest in fitness and nutrition for cricket and have a bachelors degree in Sport and Fitness. I've consulted with the North Gear 2020 Premier League, representative squads and individual cricketers all over the world.

At the moment I run www.harrowdrive.com, which allows me to write daily (almost) on the game I love.

So with that in mind, feel free to post your questions and discuss any point of what I loosely call cricket fitness but that includes every element that goes into physical performance (or more runs, wickets and catches if you prefer):

• nutrition and healthy living
  • functional endurance and work capacity
  • functional strength, power and speed
  • balance, mobility, flexibility and posture
  • basic movement skills

Together I hope we can learn some new stuff and improve all our games.

Re: Welcome along

Welcome to "your," area David,

Hopefully we can have a beautiful partnership ;)

Could i ask a question. As an ECB qualified coach, what would you ideally like people to do over the winter months to keep fit? What is the best way? How many times a week etc.

Welcome to SC, hopefully you'll give these forums a boost with your vast knowledge about the game :)

Wow you seem to be a really accomplished coach. hopefully we can improve our game with your advice.