when facing a faster bowler, what is the thought process of a good batsman?

Jim2109

when facing a faster bowler, what is the thought process of a good batsman?

this one has me puzzled. im a complete novice when it comes to batting, ive played 2 matches so far and have somehow scored 18 and 19 in the 2 matches. which i think are quite respectable scores for someone who is a bowler and does zero batting practice in the nets, if im at the nets then im bowling lol.

anyway, my question relates to what goes through the mind of a good batsman when they are facing quicker bowlers? against spin and slow-medium i am fine, i have time to react to the ball in flight and get myself into a decent position, and then sometimes even time to read it off the pitch after that before i play my final shot. however when the bowler gets up above 60mph im all at sea.

obviously the process is that you watch the ball in the hand, watch the bowlers arm come over and release the ball. i guess good batsmen can probably tell from the release point roughly what length the ball will be. then certainly they can tell after its travelled a few yards, as well as roughly knowing the line.

then i guess the next step is move into a good position as early as possible, adjusting that position slightly as the ball gets closer, picking a shot at the same time, executing the shot, then thoughts go into running, etc.

the issue i have is that i watch the ball in the hand, it leaves the hand, by the time ive established where its going, and tried to move my feet, im swinging at thin air and the ball is already past me!