Winter training

mas cambios

Winter training

Does anyone train through the winter? I've never done it before (well not seriously) but am considering it this year as I have access to some good facilities, plus it's a way to keep the weight off.

Re: Winter training

Training? What is that? I just have to turn up and my natural ability shines through.

None of this running around rubbish for ol' Danny boy!

manee said:
Yes. I am going to start doing it for my cricket club on Wednesday nights.

If anyone did, I thought it might be you lol.

Have you done it in previous years or is this the first time?

Cricket in the winter? What a novel idea, one that I'll think I'll pass on though.

Rugger is the choice of winter pursuit for me.

danicus said:
Training? What is that? I just have to turn up and my natural ability shines through.

None of this running around rubbish for ol' Danny boy!

Meh, idiot.

I don't bother with drills and skills but I do keep fit with cricket in mind, normally a bit of running and light weights, helps with football as well though.

I've found the perfect winter exercise in walking the dog around the woods where I live.

The combination of up and down hill as well as the flat makes it great place for aerobic work, not great for skills mind!

I go through a carefully set out scheme leading up to christmas. Monday/Wednesday/Friday i do nothing, Tuesday/Thursday i do ************ all.

And Saturday/Sunday, well i dont do much then!

You might not be surprised to learn I love winter training!

It gives me a chance to develop my base line strength, endurance, speed and power so I can turn that into better performance come summer.

Why does winter training hurt more than normal training - did an hour of nets and I'm in serious pain.

Guess it'll get easier once I'm used to it again.

Almost_Austwick said:
Why does winter training hurt more than normal training - did an hour of nets and I'm in serious pain.