Taking Test Cricket Forward

MinuteWaltz

Kind of a tangent here, but it somewhat goes back to my earlier statement that restricting national team play does more harm than good.

I'm new to cricket, just started following the game earlier this (northern hemisphere) fall, and I'm American, so I don't come from a cricketing culture where everyone knows the game. Feel free to take my opinions with a grain of salt on that basis, but as a newcomer to the game with a fresh set of eyes, these are my observations about the state of the game:

First, cricket overall is stagnant. Everyone knows this, but it is worth repeating. Part of the reason for this is the attitude I've seen expressed by some (on this board, on cricinfo) that test cricket doesn't need to grow, that it's fine the way it is. With all due respect, cricket does need to grow. The sport is only played significantly in five areas of the world (British Isles, Southern Africa, Indian Subcontinent, Australia/New Zealand, and the Caribbean). It is at best a niche sport outside of those areas. On top of this, cricket is sliding somewhat in the Caribbean and is damn near in limbo in Zimbabwe. In response to this, no one seems to feel the barriers to play internationally should be relaxed. Associate nations have to work their way through a convoluted World League structure just to play ODI, and even the nations that actually care about cricket (Ireland for example) have to pay their dues as a non-test associate before they can even represent their nation on the highest levels of cricket. There are even mumblings about stripping Zimbabwe's or Bangladesh's test status, further restricting the breadth of the game world-wide. No other sport requires nations to jump through such beaurocratic hoops to simply represent themselves in international play.