World Cup 2015 Format?

futureblackcap

I've been working on the format for the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. At first, I had two groups and everybody played everyone, then straight to the semis. It was too long and too many associate matches to contend with, which I'm fine with myself but the masses would get bored, especially if some of the "bigger" matches were flops or rained off.

The format I came up with was within the two groups, every team plays four matches, then its straight to the semis. The problem with this, is that there are fourteen teams in the tournament so two teams from each group would have to play three games instead. I solved this by giving every Associate Nation an effective win to start with, giving them only three group matches.

Format:
4 matches a day on the weekends - (2 in Aus, 2 in NZ) - twelve group matches each weekend
- the group matches would be finished in two weeks and the tournament would be complete in a month.
The two Associate nations in each group would start with enough points to compensate for one less match (effectively a win to start with)
Each full member team would play 3 matches against other full members and one match against an Associate or (Zimbabwe/Bangladesh) in their group
Each Associate nation would play two matches against full member teams and once against themselves
Semi finals's to be played at the MCG and Eden Park
Final to be played at the MCG

If I was making the groups, they'd look like this:

Group 1
Australia
India
Pakistan
Sri Lanka
Zimbabwe
Afghanistan
Netherlands (Canada)

Group 2
New Zealand
South Africa
West Indies
England
Bangladesh
Ireland
Scotland (Namibia)

Stadiums (Group 2): (only doing NZ cause I don't know Australia's grounds that well)

Eden Park: 3 of the Blackcap's group matches + semi-final
Westpac Stadium: The Blackcap's other group match + Two full member matches
Basin Reserve: 1 match
McLeans Park: 1 match
Seddon Park: 2 matches
Hagley Park (if finished): 1 match